

Release Date: Wednesday, December 7th, 2022

MONROE, WI - For the second year in a row, Monroe High School theatre students received several awards as part of the Wisconsin Interscholastic Speech and Dramatic Arts One-Act Play competition. The cast and crew of the play *The Play That Goes Wrong - High School Edition* advanced to the state level and participated in the State One-Act Play Contest, held as part of the Wisconsin Interscholastic Theatre Festival, November 17-19, 2022, at UW-Whitewater.

The cast of the play *The Play That Goes Wrong High School Edition* received the Critic's Choice Award for their production, representing an elite level of achievement at the State Festival. Additionally, the production earned a Directing Award, Ensemble Award, and Technical Theatre Award. The following students received Outstanding Acting Awards as well - Simon Carus as "Chris", Arabella Davis as "Rachel", Ashton Klemm as "Dennis", and Owen Klemm as "Max." Mylee Evonovich as "Sandra", Trevor Klarer as "Trevor", and Nathanial Murphy as "Jonathan" also received acting nominations. Additional cast members include Perla Jade as "Annie" and Avery Visel, Layla Pallesen, Megan Deprez, Satchel Moorman, Keagan Mulligan, Mary McKenzie, and Thomas Suthers as "Stage Crew". Brenda Davis is the advisor for the technical crew team of Allie Adrian, Paige Anderson, Gema Barradas, Baily Brown, Xavier Coulthard, Gracey Cox, Hudson Davis, Alexis Elgin, Macie Engels, Julia Gavalda, Danielle Gempeler, Ace German, Addie Hanusa, Dakota Hathaway, Honora Hubert, Trevor Klarer, Kaysen Miller, Jude Myers, Ellie Navarro, Owen Perdue, Raelynn Rowan, Jet Santos, Breann Steiner, Luke Steiner, Lizzy Suthers, Maddie Vaultonburg, James Wahl, Nick Welty, and Gabe Whitney. The production was directed by Jenny Bochar and student Associate Director EJ Jordan.

Fifty-seven schools and 1,105 students started the Wisconsin interscholastic one-act play season, with 40 schools and 888 students advancing through the district and sectional contest levels to the state level. Congratulations to all our outstanding MHS theatre students on another spectacular year of competition!